23 May 2020

Celebrities surprise students at Abertay Sport Awards

Celebrities surprise students at Abertay Sport Awards

A photo of Adele Roberts in the Radio 1 studio

Surprise involvement from celebrities such as Judy Murray, Radio 1’s Adele Roberts and rugby legend John Beattie helped bring a memorable close to the Abertay sporting season after it was cut short due to COVID-19.

The Abertay Student Sport Awards ordinarily brings the curtain down on the sport year, but this year the event had to be held online.

To ensure the event remained special, famous faces from the world of sport, media and entertainment announced this year’s winners and recorded personal video messages for students.

Judy Murray – an Abertay Honorary Graduate – announced Pete McKay as the winner of the Spirit of Abertay Award, which recognises an exceptional contribution towards fostering the development of sport at Abertay.

Pete, who studies Sports Development and Coaching, is a tennis coach and has tirelessly promoted the sport across Tayside.

In a highly personal video, Judy paid tribute to his efforts, describing him as an “exceptional individual”, adding that “we need lots and lots of Pete McKays across Scotland”.

Radio 1 DJ and I’m a Celebrity star Adele Roberts announced the Abertay University Dance Team as the club of the year, while TV presenter Amy Irons revealed that the Women’s Hockey Firsts had won the Winning Ways awards after lifting the double this season.

Webster and Claire from Tay FM’s Wake Up With Webster dressed up for the occasion in an hilarious video announcing the ten Colours winners, while rugby legend and TV presenter John Beattie – another Abertay Honorary Graduate – teamed up with BBC Weather’s Judith Ralston to announce Katie Stott as the winner of the Sword Prize for her incredible contribution to the hockey season.

Honorary Graduate and Paralympic Champion Karen Darke also made an appearance, recording an inspirational message aimed at all sport students at Abertay.

Abertay Student Sport Awards winners in full:

Spirit of Abertay Award: Pete McKay

Club of the Year: Abertay University Dance Team

Winning Ways Award: Women’s Hockey Firsts

Sword Prize: Katie Stott


Follow Abertay Sport on Twitter here

For more about sport at Abertay, visit: https://www.abertay.ac.uk/life/abertay-sport/

Share This

Pause carousel

Play carousel